Eating Like the Locals

Don Denis in Andorra la Vella came recommended by the guy working the reception when I checked in at my hotel. When I asked for a place to eat, he came up with two suggestions, telling me one was a tourist place and the other was on a street where “we go to eat”. Not being too keen on a tourist trap, I of course decided dinner would be had at the latter place. On a somewhat quiet side street off the city thoroughfare, I assume not many outsiders head up there. But considering the wall of fame, it’s not just locals who frequent. If Diego Maradona was there, or if it was a signed photo from somewhere else, I have no idea. Mostly sports personalities it looked like. Maybe not my favourite feature of the place, but it goes well with the rest of the interior, which I loved. Packed, but still very cool. With plenty of hams hanging down from the ceiling 🙂 On the downside it took a while to get menu. In the end I had to ask for one. After I had ordered – I went for tapas, but they have a lot of different items on the menu – the food came separately, meaning the first dish got more or less cold before the last dish came out, which I also had to ask for. But when the homemade meatballs finally were brought out, I forgot all about it. They were delicious!!! Wow!! After filling up to the rim, only half of what I was served, and consequently declining dessert, the waiter placed cookies and chocolates in front of me and started to open a bottle of wine. He looked quite disappointed when I told him I don’t drink wine. Or maybe just shocked 🙂 All comped, including olives to set off the meal. They might not be the best at customer service, but food is great!

Website: restaurantdondenis.com

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

11 thoughts on “Eating Like the Locals

    • Finding good places to eat has always been my problem. I am not good at planning when and where to eat 🙂 Have tried Tripadvisor, but 50/50. These days I usually ask the hotel, but sometimes they don’t come up with anything. A couple of times I have walked into shops and asked. In Venice great, in Wellington not so great 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Eating Like the Locals | beatravelling | R and B International Travel Blog

    • Yes, but I’d go back. Was actually considering it the other day. Wanted those meatballs 🙂 But thought I’d give another place a chance, which ended up with some not so good udon noodles.

      Like

Love to hear your comment :)

