A Nordics Relative

In some ways it felt like I hadn’t left home at all. The first thing I saw on my way to the hotel was a Norwegian bank. And it should continue, Norwegian grocery store and Swedish clothes shop, and I am not talking H&M 🙂 In that sense Riga turned out to be a letdown. But after leaving my hotel, and crossing one of the Daugava bridges I stumbled upon the city’s market day. What a treat! People dressed up in traditional clothes, putting on a show, and stalls with Latvian handicraft of different sorts, for me to buy 🙂 And handicraft is definitely the way to go shopping wise. Because besides that they don’t have much to spend money on. Like so many times before I enjoyed the old town the most. A nice place to go for a stroll, and where on my gallivanting I found this cozy bakery/cafe. Cake, tea, book and fireplace – heaven on a freezing day! I did pop by the new part as well. Not much to see I am afraid. Stumbled across a Russian “remnant”, a beautiful Russian Orthodox cathedral, and the huuuuge Riga Central Market (rct.lv), which I didn’t find more exciting than it being way too huge… As the Baltics is know for its spa traditions, I definitely had to give it a try. After doing some research I found Kolonna Day Spa (kolonna.com/en/our-services/beauty-salons/kolonna-day-spa-sc-domina-shopping) to be the perfect alternative, or so I thought. Very cheap (compared to back home), but nothing more than that – look elsewhere!

Other things to do: Riga tips

Website: liveriga.com

6 thoughts on “A Nordics Relative

  1. Market day in Riga sounds like something not to miss! I love exploring the historic parts of the places I visit too. Thanks for sharing on #FarawayFiles

    Liked by 1 person

Love to hear your comment :)

